La Cueva Animal Hospital Albuquerque, New Mexico

80 reviews

Book an appointment

Online booking unavailable.

Please call

(505) 856-2051

or

ASK A VET ONLINE

*with JustAnswer

Reviews: La Cueva Animal Hospital (Albuquerque)

All reviews (80)

Yelp (8)

Google (72)

Newest First

Newest First

Oldest First

Highest Rated

Lowest Rated

Gil B

2 years ago

I think they love my dog almost as much as I do!

Michelle Darling

2 years ago

They have been wonderful with our kitties!

Genifer Eskue

2 years ago

My four dogs and two cats are patients here and I’ve been coming to this office for more than five years. My sister and mom also bring their dogs here. The entire staff is amazing. They are always super professional, informative and go above what I’ve experienced with other vets. Highly recommend.

eric burgmaier

2 years ago

These folks are really awesome, took great care of my dog, made us feel as comfortable as possible. Great people, great service, I love them!

Chanel Murillo

3 years ago

i took my cat there for getting spayed, rabbies shots, & a microchip than TWO days later my cat passed away. they didn’t notify me about any problems until after death. DO NOT COME HERE!!! my cat was an emotional pet for my daughter who lost her dad and now she has to go through ANOTHER lost. please reconsider coming here.

Arvind Sreeram

3 years ago

Our pup Star has been a client of La Cueva since a couple years when we moved to Albuquerque and we didnt have any complaints about the service or the vet up until now. I had even rated this place a 4 or 5 star before, but not anymore! He has been feeling unwell last couple days and had diarrhea and vomiting too. Today morning we had a scare when we saw blood in his feces, couple times back to back. As most concerned pet owner would, my wife called the vets office and said that it's an emergency and if we could stop by sometime to get it checked or medicated. The woman at the reception was completely uncooperative and rude, said the pup couldn't be seen until 5 days later, though he was an established patient at the clinic. It was shocking that they wouldn't even encourage discussion or look at him, it's not a restaurant appointment we are taking about, more like an emergency for a family member! I understand this is not an emergency hospital and that there are other appointments already lined up but a callous answer like this just points to how much they dont care or wont try. She even hung up with a cold "good luck with your emergency"! We called other vet clinics and found out that most places squeeze in emergency cases, especially to established clients. Really pathetic customer service, needless to say we will never be going back.

Lindsay Stuart

3 years ago

I love this clinic. I have a dog who has fear issues and the people here have been great with him. They have seen both my cats and my dogs and I’ve never had a bad experience. Everyone is very friendly and professional. Dr. Chalfant is very nice and patient and knowledgeable. They also do not overcharge or push you to do anything unnecessary just for money. I’ve had animals a long time and this clinic is definitely top two all time.

Alise Leach

3 years ago

They were able to help my cat when no other vet could.

Shauna Stamps

3 years ago

They fixed and gave my cats shots as well as complimentary nail clippings

Amanda Sayer

3 years ago

If I could give zero stars to the vet herself, I would. Staff is a tad better and personable, but still not great. Only the older woman secretary is the saving, KIND grace there, but sadly not worth it AT ALL to stay with this vet. I have a VERY skittish dog, who is terrified of strangers. Instead of being kind and working with my dog, the vet immediately muzzled my dog, causing my dog to cry even more. My dogs are my kids, and seeing the main VET do that to any animal is very heartbreaking. I understand muzzling helps protect the vet and techs, but my dog was not aggressive, just cowering in fear. Not the first issue I have had with this vet. Take your animals somewhere kinder!

Catopia Cat Cafe

3 years ago

We LOVE La Cueva Animal Hospital and so do all of our foster cats! Jennifer is the absolute best veterinary technician and has spent many, many hours helping us with the cats that temporarily reside in our cafe until they find homes. Coming from shelters and rescue groups, we have a variety of medical issues that come up and Jennifer and Dr. Kim have been amazing to help us quickly and professionally. We could not ask for better service and they are so very kind and compassionate. They truly love animals and will go above and beyond to help. Excellent veterinary care and friendly and caring people!

Damien Spencer

3 years ago

We had to put our dog down and no one else in town would do it without having a prior appointment. La Cueva helped us in our time of need and allowed us to be with our dog even though no one was having contact because of covid 19.

Jessica Reinhardt

3 years ago

The staff here goes above and beyond to take care of my dogs! I highly recommend this vet clinic! Everyone is so nice and professional! They take amazing care of my great danes!

Juliette Craig

3 years ago

We are so blessed to have found this place! My 2 cats and 2 dogs rate it 4 ????! Tremendous value????

Michael Ferstl

3 years ago

Brian kept me updated throughout the surgery with my boy jaxx. Can’t express how good of a place this is! Thank you all for everything !

Pamela Orner

3 years ago

Dr. Kim and Dr. Simms are the best in care. They have cared for my "kids" through routine as well as emergency care. Their staff is above excellent in care and concern. They have seen us through emergency surgeries as well and routine care and unfortunate euthanizations . I would not trust anyone else to care for my family.

Ron Lucero

3 years ago

I just called in & spoke to a person named Ann (I'm not sure of the spelling that's all I was given). She refused to let me speak to her supervisor after I felt she was completely unprofessional with me. She had zero patience listening to my pet's situation & could not wait to hang up on me. My 5yr old dog who has gone to La Cueva since a pup, unfortunately suffered a leg injury early in 2020. After weeks of recovery & observation, he was deemed healed as best he could be when I was told to have a follow-up scheduled with his primary vet (La Cueva). Covid-19 had struck La Cueva when we wanted to schedule this appointment but we were not panicked because my dog seemed ok. Yesterday my dog began limping & today he's not putting his paw down, so I called-in to have him looked at. That's when, after nearly six years, my bad experience with La Cueva began. I spoke to "Ann" & after apparently having some difficulty understanding my native New Mexican dialect, she was able to look up my dog. First thing that she does is say, "Well our records indicate that you haven't brought him in since 2018". I replied, "That's because his rabies vaccination is good for 3yrs. + he's been seen by another hospital several times this year alone". .."Well either ways we don't know what could be wrong so he at least needs to have a full screen exam". I asked her, "but isn't that voluntary? I'm pretty sure the only thing mandatory are rabies vaccination. What I'm requesting is to schedule him for an X-ray & recommendation because although I'm afraid he may need to have an amputation, he's suffering & I don't think screwing more screws into him a 3rd time sounds like the best option, but I'm not the expert". To all of that she apathetically replied, "It's policy". To this I added, "So what you're saying is you won't attend to my dog's emergency unless I agree to let you charge me for stuff I'm not asking for?". Here I gained further insight into to her job's objectives when she replied, "Well, you haven't brought him to us since 2018 so why don't you take him back to the hospital that worked on him the last time?". I replied, "The cost of the procedure included weeks of follow-up recovery visits & checkups, I didn't need to bring him in, not until now that covid affected our schedules". She added, "I don't know about that, we've been operating close to normal this year". I said, "I know, during this time while he was recovering, I brought my other dog in for his recommended checkup & 2nd rabies vaccine but now you won't see this dog because he hasn't been seen specifically by La Cueva since 2018? Really?". No reply. "Wow! I guess if you don't want to see him then there's nothing else to say". She released the call with a simple, cold, "Okay, goodbye". After reading the partiality in the owner's reply below I'm not willing to consider revising this review. "We do not generally schedule surgery to remove a body part BASED ON THE OWNER'S DIAGNOSIS. [Never did I 'diagnose', re-read. I stated the obvious, that he's suffering. I said exactly the opposite, I'm not an expert.] The veterinary board requires a valid veterinary-client-patient relationship be in place for us to diagnose or prescribe medications. This is valid for one calendar year after an exam [Ann failed to communicate this]. ..which was vastly overdue [`Policy' isn't synonymous with law] in your dog that we saw once almost 3 years ago [Rabies every 36months, as required by law] after you were fired as a client from another clinic for being belligerent with their staff. [This is blatantly false. How simple it would be to reconcile our business failures by 'firing' our clients. I was 'Fired', how ridiculous!]. Despite better judgement, [This is how you respond to grievances? By casting aspersions? What are you insinuating? Seems VERY DISCRIMINATORY.] we took you on as a client because your dog was in dire need of care". [Happy-tail is 'dire need' but a possibly re-fractured forelimb is a 2wk wait?]. Reading your 1 star reviews, it's obvious your business has a customer service problem.

Ryan Barrett

3 years ago

I had to pick up medication and food for my girlfriend. I got there and called and they brought it right out! Great place

samantha alvidrez

3 years ago

Took my German Shepard to La Cueva animal hospital since covid caused a major delay in being able to get into our regular vet. A friend recommended them so decided to make an appt. I walked south of my visit extremely impressed! The facility was extremely clean and everyone was friendly. The vet was thorough and answered all of my questions and got an actual visit summary for my dog that was extremely detailed. I was happy to see all the precautions they were taking in between patients to sanitize the facility and the check in area to keep patients safe!

Gregory Vigil

3 years ago

Took my cat there for the first time. Staff were all great. Recommend it if you're looking for a vet.

Adrian Lopez

4 years ago

This is a great place to take your pets without Breaking the Bank.

Grace Dalmacion

4 years ago

No long wait times, amazing staff

Jessica N.

4 years ago

I could’ve never imagined I would feel so comforted losing my sweet baby Maverick. From the moment Paulette answered the phone, we were treated with such kindness. I cannot thank Dr. Sonja Sims and Brian enough! Brian came in an hour early on a Saturday to take care of Maverick in his final days and even personally picked up his ashes. Dr. Sims was patient and lovingly treated my boy. Thank you all so much for making one our hardest days, bearable! I won’t forget your kindness!

Karen Bricker Pino

4 years ago

I really appreciate this hospital, Dr. and staff. They have always gotten my animals in when needed and find out the problem promptly. I very highly recommend this animal hospital. Thank you for all you do, Brian and Jennifer are the best! Dr. C is also the best vet I have ever been too out here in New Mexico.

Kay Rice

4 years ago

Such a nice place. Very helpful to by old dog.

Leslie Loggains

4 years ago

I absolutely love this place and the people who work there. They truly care about you animals. I am so grateful that they were recommended to me a couple years ago!

Mary Mac Ninch

4 years ago

Very caring and empathetic. Most employees very nice and caring for sick pets and owners.

Michael Cox (mikehcox)

4 years ago

Best vet ever. Took care of our last dog. Trusting them with our new puppy

Robert Gilbert

4 years ago

I'm glad I found this place, even though it was way across town. Everyone was happy and professional. They were sympathetic to my daughter's dog. She received surgery and is now getting back to her regular self. I appreciate that they have called a few times to check up on our pets condition, that was real thoughtful. I will continue to use this place in the future.

Gabriel Gutierrez

4 years ago

Staff is awesome and friendly

show more reviews

La Cueva Animal Hospital, New Mexico, Albuquerque

8000 Paseo Del Norte Blvd Ne

Is this your business?