Humane Society of Douglas County Superior, Minnesota

51 reviews

Book an appointment

Online booking unavailable.

Please call

(715) 398-6784

or

ASK A VET ONLINE

*with JustAnswer

Reviews: Humane Society of Douglas County (Superior)

All reviews (51)

Yelp (4)

Google (47)

Newest First

Newest First

Oldest First

Highest Rated

Lowest Rated

Carol Sislo

2 years ago

Caring staff. Clean facilities for the animals.

Sharon Flaig

2 years ago

When can I buy fudge?

Rob Burns

2 years ago

This place is a joke. I drive 20 miles to look at your dogs to get a female dog and on the door it says by appointment only. I call and you won't let me come in and look. What a waist of time. I won't come back.

MB Smetana

2 years ago

Fantastic service and caring workers. My babies did great here.

Julie Thormodsgard

2 years ago

We were so happy with our experience and our new addition. The staff was very helpful with the information they had about our new dog, who is now living her best life.

Jodi1987@gmail.com Joey1999

2 years ago

We wanted to adopt we called 3 times spoke to 3 people said they call us back heard nothing. We were serious want to have a furry friend. We found 2 pups on our own. Would never recommend them sorry. I heard back reviews but thought we try but was the same for us sad.

Ashley Prihoda

2 years ago

They make it near impossible to adopt. You can buy a car easier then adopting. Rude staff. I’m a good pet owner who brought my daughter to pick out a cat to adopt. She falls in love with a perfect match, only for them to say no. Thank you for the heartbreak of having to leave empty handed. Be prepared for the ridiculous hoops you have to climb to try and bring an animal into a good home.

TrevorBlaineSnyder

2 years ago

Just so you're aware, these people won't help you if your cat gets its leg stuck in a radiator. They'll just tell you to call a vet.

Robert Witte

2 years ago

We hear of a 9 month old GSD they had .We called and went see her late Saturday and went sunday and got her 5 weeks ago. I've GSD in the past for a puppy she is smart.They gave us all time to get to each other.Been checking out there page one more .

Robin Hall

2 years ago

It's a great shelter, lots of room to visit with the animals. Parking is great, location is easy to find, and easy to access. Prices are fair for a pet that's been altered, updated on vaccination, and healthy. All of that is done for you so you don't have to make the call, or drive to have it done. The staff are very welcoming.

Vince Effinger

3 years ago

The lady who is varry rude an doesn't care about customer service started off by your not the owner of the dog I was picking up for someone just has no manners at all I don't recommend this place to anyone at all an this is a very big person at the front counter

S70n3r J3sus

3 years ago

They stole my cat. He had cancer, then they gave him to another family that unknowingly adopted him with his conditions. They asked around about who's cat he was, I tried to get him back. They told me that my pictures weren't sufficient enough, so I couldn't take him back. He was registered in Wyoming, and they knew that. They're worthless. I wouldn't consider bringing my pet here. They switched the prescriptions between my little dog and my big dog, almost killing my little dog.

Reinhardt Wilhelm

3 years ago

Was lied to about pet availability. Waited months for a posting but it never came. Then they posted saying the litter had all been adopted. They broke our hearts and trust.

Tanya Lael

4 years ago

Very caring helpful loving staff

Alex Jackson

4 years ago

Worst place to get animals! The receptionist there is rude , untrustworthy and needs to be fired! We were going adopt a cat named Duke Mayhem and they refused to give any information about this cat and they adopted him out one hour before I was going to get him!

Briba Achmed Burnt Toast

4 years ago

Gives animals a place to survive

Cheryl Snyder

4 years ago

We adopted our Black Kitten, Jack. His name is now Lil' Guy. My 2 small dog's love him too.

Daniel Parkinson

4 years ago

Top notch facility,these folks are truly dedicated pet care specialists and animal lovers.The facility is clean and they work very hard caring for their clients...

Doug Hoffbauer

4 years ago

Friendly people. Can't say the same of the used cat I picked up.

Kristine Hagen

4 years ago

I adopted 2 barn cats from here. The staff was great and the cats are just wonderful. They are very friendly and lovable.

mary durbin

4 years ago

The staff really cares and are helpful with any questions or concerns you have. Please help the animals by becoming a member or check out their wish list of items the staff and animals need.

Nate Anderson

4 years ago

Very friendly staff that will go above and beyond to help with your every question and concern.

scott leach

4 years ago

Awesome place saving our pets!!

Sue K

4 years ago

Great place to get a rescue pet. Nice clean facilities.

Tanja Heckert

4 years ago

I used to come several times a week as a volunteer. After graduation I moved back to Europe, but I truly miss this place. The staff is super nice and you can tell how deeply they care for the animals.

Suzzzy Q H

4 years ago

Adopt please don't shop Lots of beautiful animals need homes. $

Karen Czech

5 years ago

Found the best match for me!! Have had my ???? for a year now. Very friendly and helpful. Knowledgeable as well. Tried other shelters in the area and was treated rudely because I am mentally ill.

Ann Wolff

5 years ago

My boyfriend and I fell in love with a beautiful girl named Lola this week. We were all set to adopt her and on our way to the shelter when I called to have them hold her for the drive time to the shelter we were told someone else was there looking at her and that we were too late. I called at 10:07 and the shelter opens at 10 AM. I had called the day before to them know we were coming in the AM. The staff had stated due past experience they could not hold the animal unless I called and was on my way... At no time did anyone ever say that there was someone else interested. Their only response was "First come, first served" and a very cold "that is our policy,". I had given the lady on Tuesday my name and information and I was approved to adopt Lola over the phone. I could not pick her up til Friday and was upfront about that... My advice, if you find an animal here you better get it right away or you will have your heart broken with absolutely no compassion from the staff. ????

Brenda Steele

5 years ago

I love the cat I adopted on May 11 Archie. Hes great. Thank you so much for the great experience

Carrie Courteaux

5 years ago

Staff are nice. I have been here 3 times in the past 18 months and there seems to be a shortage of dogs to adopt.

show more reviews

Humane Society of Douglas County, Minnesota, Superior

138 Moccasin Mike Rd

Is this your business?